La prossima volta

7 aprile 2009

     L’Abruzzo: una di quelle regioni di cui non si sente parlare molto spesso. Una di quelle regioni che ti mettono in imbarazzo se ti capita una domanda di Geografia al Trivial Pursuit. Ma credo che in questi giorni tutti ne sappiano qualcosa.
     Della tragedia consumatasi l’altroieri si è già detto tanto, e su tutto mi resta impresso il crollo dalla "Casa della studente", dove tanti ragazzi che potrei essere io hanno avuto la sfortuna di essere al postio sbagliato al momento sbagliato. Da allora mi gira in testa una canzone, che io ho sempre letto come un elegia, forse fraintentendo qualcosa, ma non è rilevante: questo è il mio pensiero, la mia tristezza in musica.
 
Then came question and it was about time
The answer came back and it was long
The house it was built by so men in rhyme
But whatever came of his talented son
 
Who wrote me a dialogue set a tune
Always you told me of being alone
Except for the stories about God and you
And do you still live there, in Bufallo
 
They put up the walls, no more to say
Nobody stopped to ask why it was done
The stream was too far and the rains to high
So into the city the river did run
Because of the architect the buildings fell down
Smothered and drowned all the seeds that you sowed
I wish I was somewhere but not in this town
Maybe the ocean next time around
 
I seem to remember the face and the name
But if it’s not you I don’t care
I know of changes, but nothing would change you
To Theo the sailor who sings in his lair
 
Then I’ll turn and he won’t be there,
Dusky black windows to light the dark stair
Candles will nod in the musty air
Oh, with the flames for as many as the years
 
("Next Time Around", Emiliana Torrini)
Rispondi

